Smelly Sardines by Jackie Villarreal Nájera

My dad and I liked eating sardines at night. At least three times a week we would get up about eleven o’clock at night   and eat sardines and crackers.

The next morning after that, my mother would yell:  “You’ve been eating sardines again! You and your dad stink up the house!”

My father and I would never own up to it. We didn’t want to get yelled at again.

However, the next night we would do it all over again.

We loved sardines.

Getting yelled at by Mother was expected. She hated sardines in general and fish in particular. She hated those times when Dad fried fish.

Once Dad and I ate fried fish every day for a month. It drove my mother crazy.

Since Mother hated the smell of fried fish so we went back to eating sardines.

“You are at it again, eating those stinky sardines!”

How did she know since we threw the sardine can in the garbage outside?

Dad decided not to buy sardines for a while. Since I receive a generous allowance from him I decided to buy some sardines.

I was eating sardines at night  when my dad suddenly showed up.  The temptation was too great for him and he sat down and joined me.

“Mom is going to yell at us.” I said.

“I know.” Responded my dad.

I have become much older now. I have become a  pescatarian . All that means is while I don’t eat beef, lamb, pork, or chicken. I will eat fish, especially sardines.

I never thought I was very much like my mother but I guess I was wrong. These days when my brothers make spare ribs or any other meat, I will usually yell:

“It stinks!” and I  run to my room  and close the door.

Leave a Reply

